Essay on The Seven Sacraments Of Catholicism

1049 Words Nov 15th, 2014 5 Pages
The Seven Sacraments
Of Catholicism

Ashley McClain

Catholicism is the oldest religion in the western world. The members are bound together through Jesus Christ and their obedience to the papacy. The Pope is the head of the church and is believed to be the successor to Saint Peter. Christ appointed Saint Peter as the first head of the Church. Although the Catholic Church is based out of Rome, there are more than a billion members spread across all five continents. All Catholics have a faith that revolves around the Seven Sacraments – baptism, reconciliation, Eucharist, confirmation, anointing of the sick, marriage, and holy orders. A man by the name of Peter Lombard first enumerated the sacraments and they became tradition during medieval times. The sacraments were affirmed formally at the Council of Florence in 1439. Three of the seven sacraments may only be given once, while the other four can be repeated over and over again. These sacraments are often categorized into three categories – Sacraments of Initiation, Sacraments of Healing, and Sacraments at the Service of Communion. The Sacraments of Initiation include baptism, confirmation, and Eucharist. Baptism is believed to be the entrance into the Church and may only be received once. It cleanses one of original sin and allows one to receive the life (grace) of God into their souls. By receiving the grace of God, one is then prepared for the reception of other sacraments. The second…

Related Documents